Latest News: ”I believe the summit will provide…an ideal platform to discuss how multi-sectors can work together in partnership to solve the Humanitarian and Logistical problems in Africa….The Department wishes to appreciate your organisations gesture and look forward to an engaging summit that will enable us to build strong partnerships…” Mr Owiti Director for Communications in the Ministry of Information & Communication

Objectifs et défis

Les Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement (OMD), adoptés lors du Sommet du Millénaire à New York en Septembre 2000 ont changé le concept de développement global. Promettant de « libérer tous les hommes, les femmes et les enfants des conditions abjectes et déshumanisantes de l’extrême pauvreté. » ils ont été acceptés comme un cadre pour mesurer les progrès du développement. Décrivant des objectifs clairs, les OMD ont souligné que la responsabilité incombe à la fois les pays donateurs ainsi que les pays en développement à atteindre ces objectifs.

Au centre de tous les OMD, est l’OMD 8, la création d’un partenariat mondial pour le développement. Il reconnaît que l’aide seule ne résoudra pas les problèmes des plus pauvres citoyens du monde, les donateurs doivent collaborer efficacement entre eux et également avec leurs partenaires dans le monde en développement. Partenariats public-privé sont tout aussi importants, étant donné que le secteur privé peut être considéré comme le moteur de la croissance économique et les besoins de travailler en partenariat avec le secteur public ainsi que les ONG et les organes de l’ONU pour trouver des solutions aux défis qui nous attendent .

OMD 8 se concentre sur la coopération entre organisations internationales, gouvernements, sociétés pharmaceutiques, le secteur privé, et les pays en développement pour aider les gens à accéder à ce dont ils ont besoin.

Autrement dit, l’OMD 8 stipule que les riches ont une responsabilité pour aider les plus pauvres du monde à se doter des outils de base pour le développement. Ils ont besoin d’augmenter l’aide afin d’aider ces pays à atteindre les OMD. La question de l’endettement important doit également être examiné et un environnement favorable doit être créé pour le développement. Etant donné un système éducatif efficace, la santé, l’énergie durable et de l’infrastructure, la sécurité, la gouvernance, les mécanismes du commerce équitable et l’accès aux nouvelles technologies et modernes, les plus pauvres et les gens peuvent se sortir de la pauvreté.

Les objectifs clés sont derrière MDG8:

Target 8A:

Multilatéral ouvert, réglementé, prévisible et non discriminatoire système commercial et financier.

8B cible:

S’attaquer aux besoins particuliers des pays les moins avancés

Cible 8.C:

S’attaquer aux besoins particuliers des pays en développement enclavés et les petits États insulaires en développement.

Cible 8.D:

Traiter globalement le problème de la dette des pays en développement.

Cible 8.E:

En coopération avec l’industrie pharmaceutique, l’accès aux médicaments essentiels abordables dans les pays en développement.

Target 8.F:

En coopération avec le secteur privé, mettre les avantages des nouvelles technologies disponibles, en particulier l’information et de communication.

Latest News: ”I believe the summit will provide…an ideal platform to discuss how multi-sectors can work together in partnership to solve the Humanitarian and Logistical problems in Africa….The Department wishes to appreciate your organisations gesture and look forward to an engaging summit that will enable us to build strong partnerships…” Mr Owiti Director for Communications in the Ministry of Information & Communication

Objectives and Challenges

The Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), adopted at the UN Millennium Summit in New York during September 2000 have changed the whole concept of global development. Promising to: “free all men, women, and children from the abject and dehumanizing conditions of extreme poverty.” they have been accepted as a framework for measuring development progress. Outlining clear targets, the MDG have highlighted that responsibility lies on both donor nations as well as the developing world to attain these targets.

Central to all the MDGs, is MDG 8, the creation of a global partnership for development. It recognizes that aid alone will not solve the problems of the world’s poorest citizens, donors need to work together effectively among themselves and equally with their partners in the developing world. Private-public sector partnerships are equally as important, given that the private sector can be seen as the engine behind economic growth and needs to work in partnership with public sector as well as the NGOs and Un bodies to find solutions to the challenges that lie ahead.

MDG 8 focuses on co-operation between international organisations, governments, pharmaceutical companies, the private sector, and developing countries to help people gain access to what they need.

Simply put, MDG 8 stipulates that the wealthy have a responsibility to help the world’s poorest to equip themselves with the basic tools for development. They need to increase aid to help these nations achieve the MDGs. The issue of Heavy indebtedness also needs to be looked at and a favorable environment needs to be created for development. Given an effective education system, healthcare, sustainable energy and infrastructure, security, governance, fair trade mechanisms, and access to new and modern technologies, the poorest nations and people can pull themselves out of poverty.

The Key Targets behind MDG8 are:

  • Target 8A:
  • Develop further an open, rule-based, predictable, non-discriminatory trading and financial system.

Target 8B:

  • Address the special needs of least developed Countries

Target 8.C:

  • Address the special needs of landlocked developing countries and small island developing States.

Target 8.D:

  • Deal comprehensively with the debt problems of developing countries.

Target 8.E:

  • In cooperation with the pharmaceutical companies, provide access to affordable essential drugs in developing countries.

Target 8.F:

  • In cooperation with the private sector, make available benefits of new technologies, especially information and communication.